Christopher Moore Home Page

The bulletin board is currently closed to new posts. Instead, why not check out Chris' Twitter and Facebook pages?

bbs.chrismoore.com Forum Index -> So You Wanna Be a Writer?

The Last Great Idea

Author    Thread This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
earthshoes

The Last Great Idea  Reply with quote  

Four months ago, I took the advice of a successful writer of short stories who suggested that I sub everything I write, even if I don't think it's any good. However, before I could take his advice, I actually had to write some stuff (other than the novel which I'd already written, but that's another issue entirely). After about a month and a half of scribbling, I came up with four satisfying pieces. I also found out I am a science fiction writer with an odd literary bent (you'd think after a 75,000 wd sci-fi manuscript I'd know that, but I didn't). Funny thing is, I got no say in it.

After about three months of rejects. (I have a slip from the Atlanta Review with note from the editor scribbled on it that I'm probably going to frame) I've finally placed everything. Two of them have been accepted into paying markets within the last two days.

Yippee. However, in the last two months, I've taken on a great new job, taught summer school and run VBS in addition to the normal family of six and too many pets stuff, all of which meant that little or no real writing has been going on. Until this week, I've been too fried and too harried to do much more than pop in here e couple of times a day or read on a poetry workshop I also frequent.

I finally have time. Nothing to hide from and everything to gain from doing what I love best.