Christopher Moore Home Page

The bulletin board is currently closed to new posts. Instead, why not check out Chris' Twitter and Facebook pages?

bbs.chrismoore.com Forum Index -> So You Wanna Be a Writer?

Unasked-For Advice to New Writers About Money
Goto page 1, 2  Next
  Author    Thread This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
18Rabbit

Unasked-For Advice to New Writers About Money  Reply with quote  

Cory Doctorow on BoingBoing.net linked to this article back in February where John Scalzi offers 10 financial tips for new writers. Even though I'm not a writer, I've been an independent contractor (1099 vs W-2) in the past and most of the advice is similar to what I tell people who are thinking about trying that route too. Even if you don't agree with the things he says, it's still an interesting read. What do you think about it?

http://scalzi.com/whatever/?p=362

Post Tue Aug 19, 2008 8:19 am   View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sephonae

That article was a steaming cup of wake-up-and-smell-reality. However, I found his suggestion of marrying/shacking up with someone who can help financially support you as a writer a bit obnoxious--it's lovely that he's been so blessed with a wife who can provide a steady income and health benefits, but to lay it out there as he did made me want to find out where he lives so I can go TP his house. Also, why's he trippin' on bass players?

Post Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:57 pm   View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chris
Site Admin

The article sounded right to me. On all points. And if it's only about money.