Christopher Moore Home Page

The bulletin board is currently closed to new posts. Instead, why not check out Chris' Twitter and Facebook pages?

bbs.chrismoore.com Forum Index -> So You Wanna Be a Writer?

Sticking with a genre. Hints needed.

Author    Thread This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
semnae

Sticking with a genre. Hints needed.  Reply with quote  

Hullo, my name is semnae and I am an entertainment sponge.

Like many, I am an aspiring writer. I have the prerequisite box o' crap in the closet, a few stories on the computer, and a couple of character outlines here and there. Standard stuff. Nothing hoohaish.
I still sit down and try to pound out a few pages on whatever story that has gripped me that day but therein lies the problem.
Whatever I am currently influenced by is what I end up writing. I become a theme plagiarist.
To combat this, I've tried becoming a entertainment hermit, avoiding anything that could colour my imagination and style but inevitably something will sneak in and change the entire project or have me going on a completely different story tangent, leaving the one that I was working on in mid-sentence.
I also tried the trick of embracing my inner thief. That didn't work well, either. What I wrote was basically fan-fic with different character names.
Eventually I just threw my hands up in the air and said "Screw it. I'm just deluding myself into thinking that I can cut it as a writer. I think I'll try my hand as a professional ass scratcher"
So I didn't write for many years.
Now I'm back to scribbling in notebooks but I still have the same problem; I bounce from genre to genre, never finishing anything. I am just too influenced by what makes me go "Dude!"

So, here are my questions. How do you stick with something even when you have a lightbulb moment for a new story that you want to start NOW, bedamned current project?