Christopher Moore Home Page

The bulletin board is currently closed to new posts. Instead, why not check out Chris' Twitter and Facebook pages?

bbs.chrismoore.com Forum Index -> So You Wanna Be a Writer?

Help! Ending a story, or short story.

Author    Thread This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
AdelineKate

Help! Ending a story, or short story.  Reply with quote  

Hi, I'm a creative writing major at School of the arts, a public high school alternative, that you audition for. So I am a pretty good writer, however in our class we have had numerous stories and short stories to write, and i can never seem to be happy with my endings. I always have to end it at a point I'm not comfortable with because of the due date for my story. You are probably wondering, "why don't you ask one of your teachers at this arts school?" but I have, and there is really no suggestions they have come up with for me, or any I can be happy with.
So, to break it down, my question is,
How can I end a story? Is there anything to include to make me happy with it, and to make the reader happy with it?
Thanks so much! Smile

Post Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:41 am   View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Boota

I don't write the first word until I know the ending. If the ending doesn't work I don't start until it does.

Post Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:53 am   View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
festusbongwater

Endings  Reply with quote  

Some of the best short story endings I've read or heard are the ones that involve a surprise -- like when you suddenly realize that the narrator is dead, or that the meat in the casserole that mom just served up is actually that deadbeat dad.