Christopher Moore Home Page

The bulletin board is currently closed to new posts. Instead, why not check out Chris' Twitter and Facebook pages?

bbs.chrismoore.com Forum Index -> So You Wanna Be a Writer?

The dreaded writer's block
Goto page 1, 2  Next
  Author    Thread This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics. This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
nallard

The dreaded writer's block  Reply with quote  

Scarier than the former Communist Bloc in the 1950's. What do you guys do when the words just won't come? Any tricks, superstitions, prayers, faustian dealmaking?

Personally I just get really frustrated and end up binging on snickers bars (but the mini ones so that when I eat an entire bag I can tell myself it's different than the regular sized ones). It always makes me feel terrible and pretty sick so it takes my mind off things allowing me to relax. Of course up until now I've been a journalist and had deadlines to spur me on so I'm not sure that trick will work.

Post Mon May 01, 2006 4:14 pm   View user's profile Send private message
knikkki

I just had a White Chocolate Kit Kat. It tasted VERY good, but a. didn't help the writers block, and b. didn't help the diet.

Sometimes it's good just to write something, even if it's shitty. At least it gets you past the stuck point. At least, that's what I keep telling myself.

Post Mon May 01, 2006 4:18 pm   View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
FattyFattyPorkFace

I got past it by working out what was stopping me. I know taht sounds really dumb, but I was so certain how the next part of teh book should go that I couldn't write it. So, eventually, I decided that it will go however it goes and I just started writing what felt natural, regardless of plot. It turned out exactly how I was trying to get it in the first place but without me trying to get it there.

So, like Knikkki said, just write and it will come.